The Excellence in Teaching Award at Cleveland Community College, Shelby, NC
  • Ask Cleve
  • cccConnect
  • cccSocial
  • Blackboard

Cleveland Community College Foundation presents
2014 Excellence in Teaching Award

Dr. Starr CamperThis year’s Excellence in Teaching recipient is Dr. Starr Morrow Camper, department chair of Social Sciences. Dr. Camper has been teaching history and political science at Cleveland Community College for 22 years and earned her doctorate in women’s history with a minor in Russian history and political science from the University of South Carolina at Columbia. She earned her master’s and bachelor’s degrees from the University of North Carolina at Charlotte in history and also attended Isothermal Community College where she received an Associate in Arts degree. In 2002, Dr. Camper received the Outstanding Alumni Award from Isothermal Community College and was also the Excellence in Teaching Award recipient at Cleveland Community College in 1996.

Dr. Camper says her greatest honor in winning the Excellence in Teaching Award is that a student felt she was deserving enough to take time to nominate her. “Teaching is one of my greatest passions, and to be recognized is amazing. I am blessed to work with a group of outstanding colleagues, each of whom is an excellent instructor. CCC gave me a wonderful opportunity years ago and I will be forever grateful,” she says.

When she is not in the classroom, Dr. Camper says she enjoys hanging out with her husband, Wes, their three recue animals, and also reading anything written by Clive Cussler. She says she also loves being actively involved with her sons, Scott and AJ, at their school-Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy. Dr. Camper also serves as Sunday school director at Bethany Baptist Church and volunteers at Grace of God Rescue Mission, Path Shelter, and Noah’s home. She and her family live in Forest City, North Carolina.

 Excellence in Teaching Award winners:

2013 – Sherry Hamrick
2012 – Russ Hamilton
2011 – Sandol Johnson
2010 – Sheri Rogers
2009 – Claman Parker
2008 – Bruce Mack
2007 – Barbara Taylor
2006 – Michael Sisk
2005 – Dori Gantt
2004 – Kay Chitty
2003 – Ray Fisher
2002 – Becky Sain
2001 – Bruner Remy
2000 – Jana Bridges
1999 – Steve Putnam
1998 – Phil Reid
1997 – Dr. B. J. Zamora
1996 – Starr Morrow Camper
1995 – Rosaline Hunt
1994 – Jean Francis
1993 – Linda Ross
1992 – Barbara Taylor
1991 – James Fite

Thursday, June 26, 2014 12:28:55 PM